Fiona’s (Vanilla) Meme

Saw this on Fiona’s blog and decided to steal it – thanks, Fiona!!

The phone rings. Who do you want it to be?
Um, a wrong number.  Unless it’s Sir or my sister or daughter.   I don’t really like talking on the phone and they all text rather than calling usually, so i can’t say i want it to be anybody.

When shopping at the grocery store, do you return your cart?
Sometimes. Usually.

In a social setting, are you more of a talker or a listener?
Usually a listener unless i’m in some kind of role that makes it particularly necessary to talk.

Do you take compliments well?
Not too badly.  I’ve had years of practice at “just say thank you.”

Are you an active person?
Well, I have a sedentary job and spend hours blogging and reading other people’s blogs on the computer and playing on Facebook and doing paperwork, but you know, aside from that I’m active.  Sure.  I walk to the basement and back at least once a day.  And my office is on the third floor – no elevator.

If abandoned alone in the wilderness, do you survive?
Hell, no.  Only if someone shows up to rescue me.
Did you ever go to camp as a kid?
Yes.  I went to a horse-riding camp once, and really loved that, and went to a regular camp two or three years and liked it.

What was your favorite game as a kid?
Army. We used to play army all the time. Outside, running and playing all day.  Don’t know why we played army but we did.

A sexy person is pursuing you, but you know that he/she is married, would you?
Nope.  Don’t think so.  Never have – not saying I never would, anything can happen, but I think not.
Are you judgmental?
I try not to be.
Do you like to pursue or be pursued?
Be pursued.
Use three words to describe yourself.
Compassionate, empathetic, and eccentric

If you had to choose, would you rather be deaf or blind?
Blind, no doubt.  Helen Keller said that blindness separates you from things, but deafness separates you from people.

Are you continuing your education?
Of course.  Try to learn something every day.

Do you know how to shoot a gun?
Yes.

How often do you read books?
Every day.

Do you think more about the past, present or future?
I try to focus on the present, but don’t mind thinking about the past or looking to the future.

What is your favorite children’s book?
Oh, there are so many it’s hard to choose.  Any of Madeleine Engel’s books, but particularly A Ring of Endless Light.  I think.  But could be the Prydain chronicles.  Or Anne of Green Gables.

Where is your ideal house located?
By the ocean.

Boxers, briefs, thongs, panties or grannies?
Panties…an occasional thong.

Last person you talked to?
My Sir.

Have you ever taken pictures in a photo booth?
Yes…years ago when I was much younger.

What are your keys on your keychain for?
To open and close stuff?  Oh, House, Car, Work.   File Cabinet.

Where was the furthest place you traveled today?
Work.

Where is your current pain?
Nowhere.  Well, lower back a little bit.

Do you like mustard?
Yes…honey dijon

Do you prefer to sleep or eat?
O, man, both – do I have to pick?  Really?  Um, o, i don’t know, um, eat.  No, no, no sleep.  Eat and then sleep.  I like them both a lot.
Do you look like your mom or dad?
I look like both really.  There’s a strong family resemblance – my grandmother, mother, my sister, my daughter – you can tell we’re related.  But I have my Dad’s coloring and his eye color and maybe his mouth.

How long does it take you in the shower?
Ten – twenty minutes.
What movie do you want to see right now?
None.   I don’t really like movies.

What did you do for New Year’s?
Stayed home with Sir.

What was the cause of your last accident?
My last accident?   A hole in the pavement – stumbled on it, or in it.

13 thoughts on “Fiona’s (Vanilla) Meme

  1. jadescastle

    Love those three words you used to describe yourself. Very apt.
    The Helen Keller quote? I often think about it and think it might have been more accurate for her time. Now that so much communication takes place via text, facebook, etc I’d say that blindness would separate me more from people. Not to mention, there is that pesky eighty to ninety percent of communication which is not verbal. Trust me when i say i loose a LOT in translation. Heh. You ever watched deaf people talk? It’s very animated. The signs are animated, the faces are animated. They don’t loose the non verbal information. You ever watched blind and low vision people talk? No meta expressions happening, no ability to discern them. I can’t imagine never hearing children laugh again though or Bach or Sir Raven’s laugh or storms. 🙂

    Reply
    1. sofia Post author

      Interesting perspective, Jade, and I can only respect it since you speak with some authority! I think – well, it’s a crappy choice to begin with right? It reminds me of my sister when she was little who would pose questions like, “Would you rather burn to death or freeze to death?” and insist that we “pick one.”
      love, sofia

      Reply
  2. innocuous37

    I love your answers – so you!

    And I was also struck by the question of deaf or blind. My immediate answer would be I’d rather be deaf. I cannot imagine not being able to read, to get around, to be independent, to read! But I was out for dinner last night – there were hmmm, 20 adults, most of us close, and I’m such an extrovert, talking to different people, taking pleasure in them, it was a joy. And I think that Helen was right, being deaf would separate you from people. But… reading.

    -sin

    Reply
    1. sofia Post author

      Hey, Sin,

      I know – it’s an unfair question. But yeah, I’ve been in groups of people with someone who was deaf, and unless there’s someone to interpret, it’s really easy for them to be isolated. But you’re right – reading and driving… sheesh. It’s an awful question.

      Reply
  3. jadescastle

    On the Deaf side though….deaf culture is really interesting and vibrant. Really!
    Today, i ran right into a man sitting at the bottom of the stairs. Smack into him. And then i started trying to not laugh because all i could think of is, “well, maybe Helen Keller had a point. i certainly wasn’t seperate from that man after my boot went into his ass.” One day it might stop being utterly embarrassing to me when i run into a person. Just not today.
    This *really* must be what she meant about the whole separate thing. I’ve often puzzled over that quote and thought it wasn’t true. Today is your day, Helen Keller and I hope it made you laugh out loud. (His outfit was great like the stairs. What can i say?) I apologized but i’m pretty sure that didn’t make him feel better.

    Reply
    1. sofia Post author

      Yes, I TOTALLY agree Jade, about deaf culture. I was fortunate to be able to work with some deaf clients (with interpreters) and then to have a Deaf and Hard of Hearing unit in the center I worked at a number of years ago, and I totally agree.

      Funny girl… I hope he’s laughing too…

      Reply
  4. jadescastle

    Bah. First, i meant to say that i’ve puzzled over that quote FOR YEARS. And…this NYC…the staircases are not Great. They are dingy GREY, like homeboy’s outfit. Heh.

    Reply
  5. jadescastle

    You know what i love about deaf culture? They are so happy at any earnest attempt to communicate. Also, they never tell you that you signed wrong, even though there is a sign and corresponding facial expression for the word wrong. Instead, they sign, “we use ____.” I always thought that would be amazing, to never be told that my words were “wrong.” In fact, the only time I’ve ever seen the sign “wrong” was when doing mathematics. It sort of tacitly acknowledges how many ways there can be to learn. Also: deaf culture is very funny. I learned ASL and became proficient even six or so years ago that I was teaching in sign for my deaf kids. I had interpreters but it mattered a great deal to me to learn their language. I wish I could say the same thing for my kids who spoke Spanish but I did try. It was not good. At all. Sometimes, I still dream in sign language where I can “zoom in” and see what is going on. When I was first learning a lot, I came in all excited only to find out that in my dream, Bach said my symphony I had been composing was “crap.”

    Reply
    1. sofia Post author

      Yep, I agree, deaf culture is fascinating, and I know there are deaf people who don’t think being deaf is a disability at all. I’ve always thought i *should* learn sign language, but i haven’t…

      Reply
    1. sofia Post author

      Thanks, Cpmandara – it’s sad that it’s true! I always feel like I should be better equipped for that type of thing, but nope. Glad i’m not alone – but hope we don’t get stranded in the wilderness together!

      Thanks for reading and for commenting!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

