The Lucky Two Percent…

i was just reading an article in The New York Times called “I’ll Have What She’s Thinking.”  It’s about research they’ve done with brain scans to investigate the idea of some women having orgasms based on their own fantasies.

Big surprise ~ yes!  It can be done.  This is not really news to us in the kinky world of course.   But it’s not really news to science either.  The article says:

The investigations began more than a century ago as physicians described what some called psychic coitus.

On the Upper East Side of Manhattan, at the Metropolitan Dispensary and Hospital for Women and Children, the chief physician, T. J. McGillicuddy, issued a warning in “Functional Disorders of the Nervous System in Women,” published in 1896. He said “involuntary orgasms” from erotic thoughts could lower a woman’s vital energies and “cause melancholia and mental weakness.”

As a cure, he recommended hard mattresses and cold sponge baths.

Of course, that “cure” would discourage people from talking about the experience, right?  Despite that disincentive:

Surveys revealed that the phenomenon, while rare, nonetheless seemed to occur with some regularity. In 1948, Alfred C. Kinsey of Indiana University and his colleagues published “Sexual Behavior in the Human Male.” That groundbreaking study looked at thousands of cases but noted only two in which men “could reach climax by deliberate concentration of thought on erotic situations.”

But the team’s follow-up report on women, published in 1953, surveyed 2,727 women, and the researchers found that 2 percent of the interviewees — 54 women — reported an ability to reach orgasm by “fantasy alone.”

That’s pretty cool, isn’t it?  I wonder if the stats are higher for those of us in the BDSM community.  Now there’s another study just waiting to happen!

This article also reminds me that my libido is still way down, and it would be nice to boost that a bit.  Maybe i should be reading that book on Tantric Sex instead of just looking at it on my shelf…

9 thoughts on “The Lucky Two Percent…

  1. Fiona

    Sofia, this is a fabulous post!!

    I think our mind is in top shape when we use it. When we imagine shapes in the clouds all the time, then whenever we see a cloud we can see a dozen shapes in it. When we were practicing arithmetic in school, we learned to do it quickly in our heads. When we fantasize with some regularity, our fantasies become almost tangible in our mind.

    I think people in the BDDM community make sex, fantasy, spanking, whatever your Kink is – they – no we make it part of our hobbies. Now before you take offense at it being called a hobby, all I mean by that is that our kink is something that we intentionally make time for. It’s something that is important and not to be scheduled out when busyness happens. So we don’t loose that energy, that muscle reflex, that ability to fantasize well.

    Hugs,
    Fiona

    Reply
    1. sofia Post author

      Yeah, i think you’re right, Fiona. It’s fascinating how it works, isn’t it? Thanks so much for sharing your experience here!

      Reply
  2. innocuous37

    Sofia, I think I’m one of the lucky 2% but it’s sure not a regular thing for me. I HAVE cum (so I have the ability right?) just thinking about it, but most of the time I don’t. And most of the time, if I get close, I don’t see any reason why I shouldn’t just help it along.

    And good luck to your libido, I think mine has had a boost lately. Sunshine, fall colours, I’m happier, and *poof*, like magic, my libido increases.

    -sin

    Reply
    1. sofia Post author

      Hey, Sin, Good point on the “helping it along” part! i don’t think i’ve ever tried to cum just through fantasy, so i guess i wouldn’t know if i could or not.

      Glad your libido was up! Mine’s still a bit off, but i’m not worrying about it today.

      Reply
  3. mala

    I’m in that 2% as well. I also have orgasms during my sleep sometimes that wake me up. And when I am riding the bus. Or standing on a tram sometimes. But these things don’t compare to someone else making me have one…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

