What Kind of Protocol?

Japanese sitting protocol.

Last night, after a long day of meetings and such, Sir advised me that He had a research assignment for me.

“Yes, Sir?”

“Yes.  Japanese sitting protocol.  Google it.  I think you’ll find it interesting.  Study it.   You’ll want to remember.”

Re-energized and inspired by these words, i googled it.  Correct sitting, in Japan, is actually called seiza.  Wikipedia says:

To sit seiza-style, one first kneels on the floor, folding their legs underneath their thighs, while resting the buttocks on the heels. The ankles are turned outward as the tops of the feet are lowered so that, in a slight “V” shape, the tops of the feet are flat on the floor and big toes sometimes are overlapped, and the buttocks are finally lowered all the way down. Depending on the circumstances, the hands are folded modestly in the lap, or are placed palm down on the upper thighs with the fingers close together, or are placed on the floor next to the hips, with the knuckles rounded and touching the floor. The back is kept straight, though not unnaturally stiff. Traditionally, women sit with the knees together while men separate them slightly. Some martial arts, notablykendōaikidō, and iaidō, may prescribe up to two fist widths of distance between the knees for men.

Stepping into and out of seiza is mindfully performed. There are codified traditional methods of entering and exiting the sitting position depending on occasion and type of clothing worn.

Here is a picture from this website:

images

There is also a more casual way of sitting, with the legs to one side, but Sir was interested in the formal posture.

He directed me to try it last night, and i did, but my knee, which has been annoying lately, didn’t think much of the idea.   i was barely able to get in position before my knee advised me this was really not a good idea.

Of course, Sir told me to get back up right away.

Then he tells me about the “seiza benches” they use.  From this website, here’s what that looks like:

clip_image002

i could do that.

We talked about it again this morning – that website actually has instructions for making the bench.  Hmmm.  Could that be our next project?  i can see it happening…

12 thoughts on “What Kind of Protocol?

  1. ytysreloaded

    Hmm I like this for you! May I also recommend some strengthening exercises for your quads? I hope this doesn’t get bumped to spam

    http://easyexercise.hubpages.com/hub/Home-Exercise-Sidelying-Leg-Lifts-Made-Simple

    After extensive knee injuries as a teenager and then wreck less sky high heel wearing in my early 20’s I effectively “aged” my knees 30 years. Or so my PT informed me, my upper legs have always been ūber muscle heavy. With hamstrings being dominant, when I strengthen my quads well ..:: most of my daily knee pain stopped.

    You can do the exercises in bed, or just laying on the floor with the cats. Or maybe with your Sir overseeing it drill Sargent style 🙂

    Regardless sending you much love.

    A

    Reply
    1. sofia Post author

      Thank you so much, Andi, for the love – and for the exercises! i went and looked at them immediately, and thought they would probably not be too hard to do, and really helpful.
      What?
      Um, no, i haven’t actually DONE them. You mean just downloading the article doesn’t help? Even if i read it? What if i print it and hang it on the refrigerator?
      Oh.
      Bummer.

      love,
      Sofia ❤

      Reply
      1. ytysreloaded

        Lol I love you dear darling!! Good luck with them, trying hanging it on the fridge and let me know if it works. There’s a few dresses I’d love to have … Maybe it will work for me too!

        😉

        A

        Reply
  2. vanillamom

    🙂
    I like the idea of protocol. And my ankle wouldn’t like that position so the bench is neat. First a paddle came from teh workshop; perhaps a sit stool is next. 🙂

    nilla

    Reply
    1. sofia Post author

      When i first read this, i thought, YES! The stool is next. But now, well, we’ll see. It’s enticing though, isn’t it?

      Reply

Leave a Reply

