Too Cranky for Kink

Ok, there’s really no such thing as “too cranky for kink,” i just like the sound of the title.

Five times in the last week, i’ve had to “share” a brief bio of myself, or introduce myself to a new group and tell them a little about myself.  i now have it down to a cut-and-paste science.

This means that i have five new groups of people or activities that I’ve connected with in the last frigging week.  That is too much for this introvert.  I want to pull my shell up over my head and disappear.

Susan Cain, who wrote  “The Power of Introverts in a World That Can’t Stop Talking,” says of introverts:

“It’s as if they have thinner boundaries separating them from other people’s emotions and from the tragedies and cruelties of the world.”

That always sounds a little overly dramatic to me, but still.  There is something to it.  And i’m feeling it today.

And no.  For those of you on the verge of asking if i’ve been thoroughly spanked and soundly fucked lately ~ the answer is ‘no.’  We’ve been busy.    Both of us.

i was going to put in a quote about being busy right here ~ seems appropriate, doesn’t it?  But when i google “quotes busy” i get stuff like this:

“Those who are wise won’t be busy, and those who are too busy can’t be wise.”
― Lin Yutang, The Importance Of Living

Really?  What do you know Lin Yutang?

There’s this:

“Instead of saying “I don’t have time” try saying “it’s not a priority,” and see how that feels. Often, that’s a perfectly adequate explanation. I have time to iron my sheets, I just don’t want to. But other things are harder. Try it: “I’m not going to edit your résumé, sweetie, because it’s not a priority.” “I don’t go to the doctor because my health is not a priority.” If these phrases don’t sit well, that’s the point. Changing our language reminds us that time is a choice. If we don’t like how we’re spending an hour, we can choose differently.”
― Wall Street Journal

Ugh.  That one makes me really uncomfortable ~ of course kink is a priority for me!  THEY just don’t get it.

Or this:

“We all have the same 24/7. What we do with our time becomes our priority. Choose what you do with your time and do not lead a life by default”
― Patt Hollinger Pickett

Dr. Patt calls himself the Marriage Whisperer.  Hmpf.  What does he know?

At least this one is more non-judgmental:

“How come I have too many things to do all the time…??”
― Hiroko Sakai

And this one is perhaps my favorite ~ today, anyhow:

“Busy days galore…thoughts in a kaleidoscope of dervish dances.”
― Al Cash

Ok, Sir just texted me from our basement, where He’s watching Sunday Morning.   No, i’m not kidding.  Texted me to tell me about our plans for the day ~ which are going to be fun.  And delightfully vanilla.  Double vanilla bean.

Yes, i have another installment of Kinky Kastle coming in the morning… but now i’m off and running again.

9 thoughts on “Too Cranky for Kink

  1. jadescastle

    (grins) Those quotes? Yeah (long sigh)….that is how i was feeling, that i was not a priority, that S/m wasn’t a priority. But then i let go, not as gracefully as i would have liked, but i did it. For the record, i’m not suggesting you make “letting go of your needs” a priority. It made my head less messy. A little. 🙂 *That* was a priority.

    Reply
    1. sofia Post author

      Yes, it’s not a pleasant feeling, to think you’re not a priority. i’m glad you and your Sir Raven have straightened all that out!

      hugs

      sofia

      Reply
  2. sirqsmlb

    Ok, we’ll that Wall Street Journal quote. Wow! That is soooo … Disturbing … Accurate … Terrifying … Humbling … Helpful.

    Ok, I will have to be honest with myself. Dontcha just hate that? Humbling.

    Have a great vanilla time! Any chance y’all will be able to retire to your room early tonight?

    Hugs,
    Fiona

    Reply
    1. sofia Post author

      It is disturbing, isn’t it? It really made me pause and think. And yes, that whole being honest with myself thing is often not quite as much fun as i’d prefer. 🙂

      As for “retiring to our room early” – it could happen – we can only hope!

      sofia

      Reply
  3. lil

    As a fellow introvert who has spent the last couple of weeks in large (for me) crowds of new people, and meeting new people, and making arrangements with new people, I think that one’s shell is a very nice place to be in!

    Reply
  4. Jz

    My man Ralph Waldo:
    Too busy with the crowded hour to fear to live or die.

    None of this, “it’s your fault” nonsense.
    Just busy. 😉

    Reply
    1. sofia Post author

      Thanks, Jz! i appreciate that non-judmental perspective. As a recovering perfectionist, i’m pretty sure i’m supposed to handle everything perfectly all the time – o, wait, that’s not very “recovering” is it?

      Shoot… 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

